Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Library Homepage: Research

Navigation layout disabled by the site-wide Look & Feel settings.

Google doesn't have everything!

As the image on the image to the right indicates, Google doesn't allow access to all resources on the Internet. Most of the academic or scholarly resources you need to use for academic purposes are hidden in the deep web behind pay walls. 

You may be able to discover some academic resources through a Google Search but when you try to access the text you will often be asked to pay. 

Google Scholar is more useful than a basic Google search but keep in mind it still doesn't provide you access to everything.

Source: Flinders University Library

Gale Subscription Databases

             

 

 

Search across full-text journals, thousands of images, videos, and audio selections. Topical databases integrate content with curriculum-aligned materials that span core subjects.

 

Click on this link or the image to access.

Using from home?  Access code: library

      News (Gale OneFile) Web Icon

             

 

Popular newspapers include:

The Age (1991 - current)

The Australian  (1996 - current)

Courier Mail ( 1996 - current)

Sydney Morning Herald (2007 - current)

Queensland Times (2008-2020)

 

Click on this link or the image to access.

Using from home? Access Code: library

  

Subject focus on Biology, Chemistry, Environmental Science and History.

Access to millions of articles from over 17,000 scholarly journals and other authoritative sources.

To see data sets download the PDF of the report, paper or article.

 

Click on this link or the image when using at the College. 

Using from home?  Access code: library

Queensland Law Handbook

Access the full text of the QLD Law Handbook. 

Caselaw, legislation, journal articles.

TIPS:

  1. Use advance search and refine using the drop down menu on the left by selecting 'this phrase', 'all of these words' ect.
  2. On the results page from your search click on Databases to arrange results into cases, reports or journals for easier review.
  3. Looking for discussion or other references on a particular case or a piece of legislation?  Search for the case or legislation and select the Noteup feature at the top of the results page (see below). 

 

Activehistory - History research

ActiveHistory provides materials on scores of topics from the Middle Ages to the present day.

Your User ID: faithlc4341

Your Password: f@ithLc4341

Elsevier - ScienceDirect

Currently over 250,000 articles on ScienceDirect are open access.  Articles published open access are peer-reviewed and made free for everyone to read, download and reuse in line with the authors' choice of user license.

Sign in to take advantage of the freely accessible articles.

Tip: Access free articles quickly by using the open access option on the left.

Google Scholar


Google Scholar indexes or lists journal articles. If the article you want is not freely available check to see if it is available via our Gale Databases or via the QLD State Library Onesearch.

Tip: If you have located a suitable article check the cited by and related articles links under each article for more content. Also, use the year options on the left to obtain the most recent articles if required.

JSTOR Humanities & Science

 

 Full runs of more than 2,600 top scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

 Username: JCS05

 Password: Question

 

 

 

 

State Library of QLD - 'One Search'

The One Search eResources of the State Library are extensive: online journals, newspapers, magazines and websites, company information and Australian standards, legislation, music scores and recordings and encyclopedias.

Please join to use

Terms and conditions of use are reproduced below.

State Library of Queensland's licence agreements do not permit use of these databases as teaching resources in classroom environments in schools and other educational institutions. A link to the SLQ eresources webpage or our OneSearch catalogue may be placed on the school website, but not to individual databases. Use is to be by the registered individual only - access is not transferable to other parties.

JSTOR open access content

Access to freely available articles, books, images and audio files.